URSI National Report (1989-2020)


On behalf of the Japan National Committee of URSI, I am pleased to announce that we have completed preparation of our triennial "URSI National Report" for distribution at the "XXXIVth URSI General Assembly and Scientific Symposium" held in Rome, Italy on August 28 – September 4, 2021.

As of now, URSI comprises 44 Member Committees and 10 Scientific Commissions. We are happy that URSI has been constantly expanding into various directions in the area of radio science. We believe that Japan is one of the most active countries in the worldwide URSI community. Following the tradition, we have prepared this URSI National Report, which provides a comprehensive summary of achievements by the Japan National Committee of URSI over the past four-year period from November 2016 to October 2020. It is hoped that our report will serve as a reference for the other Member Committees and individual radio scientists.

In this Report, we have also included the past National Reports that were prepared for the URSI General Assemblies in Kyoto, Japan (1993), Lille, France (1996), Toronto, Canada (1999), Maastricht, Netherlands (2002), New Delhi, India (2005), and Chicago, USA (2008), and for the URSI General Assembly and Scientific Symposia in Istanbul, Turkey (2011), Beijing, China (2014), and Montreal, Canada (2017).

I would like to express my deep appreciation to the Commission Editors and a number of contributors for their hard work during the course of preparation of this Report.

September 2021

Satoshi Yagitani
Japan National Committee of URSI



Commission A: Electromagnetic Metrology, Electromagnetic measurements and standards
Hidekazu Hachisu (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)
Masami Yasuda (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, National Metrology Institute of Japan; AIST, NMIJ)

Commission B: Fields and Waves
Jiro Hirokawa (Tokyo Institute of Technology)
Naobumi Michishita (National Defense Academy)

Commission C: Radiocommunication Systems and Signal Processing
Makoto Taromaru (Fukuoka University)

Commission D: Electronics and Photonics
Hiroyuki Toda (Doshisha University)

Commission E: Electromagnetic Noise and Interference
Tomoo Ushio (Osaka University)

Commission F: Wave Propagation and Remote Sensing
Motoyuki Sato (Tohoku University)

Commission G: Ionospheric Radio and Propagation
Mamoru Yamamoto (Kyoto University)

Commission H: Waves in Plasmas
Hirotsugu Kojima (Kyoto University)
Yuto Katoh (Tohoku University)

Commission J: Radio Astronomy
Nario Kuno (University of Tsukuba)

Commission K: Electromagnetics in Biology and Medicine
Soichi Watanabe (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology)