100 years history of URSI and Commission B

The URSI will have 100 years celebration since its start in 1919. The stories before and after then are introduced. Sources of information are in references but most are provided from Dr. W. R. Stone (ASG) and P. V. Daele (SG) of URSI. The origin of URSI was "International Union of Scientific Radio Telegraphy" founded in 1st International Research Council (IRC) in 1919. Earlier than this, radio science research conferences were organized by Dr. R. Goldschmidt with the legends such as Max Planck, A. Sommerfeld, E. Rutherford, M. Curie, H. Poincare and A. Einstein. URSI had 1st general assembly (GA) in 1922 with 4 member countries and 4 scientific commissions (I-IV). In 2nd GA in 1927, member countries were increased to 11 and commission V Radio Physics was added. I. Koga and H. Yagi joined the meeting. URSI is now one of 180 members of International Science Council (ISC) which started from 2018 after the merger of ICSU (founded in 1931) and ISSC. The number of scientific commissions were increased from 4 (I-IV) to 9 by GA in 1952. They are reorganized into 9 (A-J) in 1975 and finally Commission K for EM in Biology and Medicine was added in 1990; current 10 Commissions came into line together with 44 member committees. URSI key-dates for the reform is in Fig.1 of Home page of URSI. URSI has now three flagship meetings, GASS, AT-RASC and AP-RASC in each triennial.

As for the Commission B, with the background of Geometrical Optics, Wave Propagation under Maxwell's Equations in Commission V and VI, V. Der Pol urged its start in 1948. EMTS started in 1953 where J. B. Keller presented Geometrical Theory of Diffraction. 23rd EMTS was in San Diego in this May. Activities in Electromagnetic theory in Japan will also be reviewed briefly in the talk.